Natalia Mortem Chapter 1: Coven

Screenshot-5920

My car dropped me off in Moonlight Falls the next morning. All of my instincts told me to throw a fit, going to a coven in and abandoned town was not something I wanted to do. I was angry I had to leave my friends, my clothes and my fans. An up-and-coming actress should not be living in a musty old house with a bunch of strangers. But I knew I couldn’t get fussy about this, unfortunately it was our only option. At least my father had been wrong about the uniform requirement.

Screenshot-5922

The house was not as awful as I thought it would be, and it was a lot larger than I imagined. But it was nothing compared to the mansions my family owned.

The house loomed over me like a monster. It terrified me, I was unsure what I would be facing inside. I’d never met any witches other than my family, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. Would they just be like human teenagers?

Eventually, I realized I needed to get inside. I wasn’t sure where the magical force-field began, and I feared I wasn’t protected. I had to head into the coven despite my hesitation to meet my coven mates.

Screenshot-5924

“Hello?” I called out into the empty hallway. The inside of the house didn’t look much better than the outside. The walls were dingy and dirty, it was unclear to me what color they were supposed to be originally.

“We’re in here, Darling.” A cheery voice called from my side. I stuck my head through the archway and cautiously entered the living room.

Screenshot-5926

There were a few gasps as I walked into the room. I’m pretty sure I heard someone whisper my name. I was fairly well-know with humans because of my mom, I hadn’t even realized that these people might know who I am.

“Welcome, Darling, I’m just going over some rules. Find a seat.” The older woman standing in front of the fireplace said with a sweet smile. I forced a smile back and took a seat in the only remaining armchair and avoided the bulging eyes from the girls around me.

Screenshot-5930

I tried to listen to what the woman was saying, but all I managed to catch was her name. Her name was Susannah, but she wanted us to call her Mama or Mama Sue. My mind wandered after that while she explained the rules, sleeping arrangements and the magic classes.

I couldn’t help but think about my friends back home. They’d already been worrying about me before I left, and now I’d disappeared. It was awful.

Screenshot-5931

My thoughts were broken as Mama Sue made us go around and introduce ourselves. I went first, and once I confirmed that I was Natalia Mortem, two of the girls squealed. One of them, Naomi, was the next one to introduce herself. She was born in Appaloosa Plains, but after the release of the other supernaturals it soon became a popular spot for them to migrate to. They were constantly being watched there, and so her family had to flee.

Mitchell was after her, he was from Isla Paradiso, a witch island not far off the coast of Starlight Shores. He’d lived there his whole life, until the humans started sticking their noses where they didn’t belong. His family didn’t leave, but they sent him here to ensure his safety.

Screenshot-5933

After Mitchell was Eli, but he didn’t talk much. He just told us about how he lived in a group home for the past few years. He didn’t even know he was a witch until he realized he could do things that others couldn’t. The group home got suspicious, and that’s when Mama Sue came for him. He’d already been living here for a few weeks. I was a little curious to know why he was in a group home in the first place, but I didn’t ask. It wasn’t any of my business.

Eli’s best friend Trevor was up next. He came from Twinbrook, the town where supernatural beings were originally discovered many years ago. Ever since then, his family has been very cautious about what they did and where they practiced magic. The raids also started in Twinbrook, his house had been raided by government paid werewolves. He’d lost a few loved ones, but the majority of them had been able to get away.

I felt awful for Trevor. It was amazing he was even upright, if I were him I don’t think I’d be able to deal. But just minutes before he told his awful story, I had seen him cracking jokes with Eli. He was definitely a trooper.

Screenshot-5936

However, almost immediately after he finished speaking the next girl started talking. Her name was Renee, she came from Riverview, she said it was a small farming town a couple hours away from Twinbrook. She explained to us that her town was going to be raided next, so her family sent her here while they tried to get to safety.

Renee also explained that the girl sitting next to her on the couch was Eboni. Renee told us that Eboni didn’t talk much, they’d gone to school together in Riverview and neither knew the other was a witch. They’d only found out when their parents met up to strategize. Apparently their parents knew, but they were kept in the dark so they wouldn’t accidentally reveal the secret. I suspected that decision was made more to keep Renee from spilling, but I kept that thought private.

After Renee finished speaking Mama Sue dismissed us with directions to our appropriate rooms. Even though I wasn’t entirely listening earlier, it wasn’t hard to figure out. Boys in one room and girls in the other.

Screenshot-5939

I was the first one in the girls room, so I got first bed pick. My bunk was the bottom on closest to the bathroom, solely because the bed was right next to the window. Despite this town being abandoned and old, it was still kinda pretty.

Screenshot-5940

Eboni came in next and quickly climbed onto the bunk above mine. I secretly thanked her, the other two girls seemed like fangirls of mine and I wasn’t exactly keen on sharing a bed with one, even if they were above me.

Screenshot-5941

Unfortunately, I zoned out while looking out of my window so I didn’t notice the two girls come into the room.

“Natalia?” Renee’s voice startled me out of my thoughts.

“Hi.” I gave her a tight, awkward smile. At my old school, I never had to deal with girls like this since practically everyone there was rich or famous. It was a private school. None of us had to deal with starstruck people.

“Naomi and I are gonna go see what’s in the backyard, would you like to come with?” Renee asked with a hopeful look. It was obvious by her expression that she was excited, Naomi too. I guess I would be too if I were a normal girl and a movie star’s famous daughter was sitting in the same room as me. They were also the only other girls here. I’ve seen and been in enough teen dramas to know it’s better to befriend girls than to get on their bad side. So my only option was to accept their offer.

“Sure, I guess I’m curious to know what’s back there.” I climbed out from my bunk as the two gave each other excited smiles. I couldn’t help but notice that both girls had braces. I’d never actually met someone with braces, everyone I ever knew used invisible liners to straighten their teeth.

Screenshot-5944

I followed the two excited girls outside. They talked fast, it was amazing they could even understand what the other was saying, I sure couldn’t.

“How long have you guys known each other?” I asked when there was a few second break in their constant chatter, they acted like such close friends I wondered if I misheard them when they introduced themselves.

“A few hours.” Naomi laughed. “Why?”

“No reason.” I chuckled. It was amazing to me how they could already be so close after knowing each other for such a short time. But our conversation was cut short as we left the house and headed into the backyard.

Screenshot-5946

Trevor and Eli had beaten us back here, they’d even changed into athletic wear beforehand. Trevor was trying to kick a soccer ball into the goal behind Eli, but Eli was a pretty good goalie.

Naomi and Renee gave each other excited glances. “Natalia,” Renee whispered, “do you wanna watch the boys play?” She giggled. I could tell the two of them hadn’t been around many boys.

“Sure, why not?” I whispered back. This wasn’t exactly my idea of fun, but at least Trevor was alright looking.

Screenshot-5947

Alright, Trevor was more than alright looking. He was pretty cute. But there had to be some rule about dating here, right? Right then I wished I’d paid more attention to the rules Mama Sue gave us.

However, I don’t think I’d actually date him. After all, I’d dated movie stars and famous singers before. It would look strange if I started to date some random boy from Twinbrook. It would almost look suspicious. Well, that is if I ever get my old life back.

I shook my head. I was definitely getting my old life back. My parents would surely come up with something, right? This wasn’t permanent,  I’d be back to my mansion soon enough.

But that didn’t mean I couldn’t have a little fun before I had to leave, right?

2 thoughts on “Natalia Mortem Chapter 1: Coven

  1. Oh I hate fan girls with a burning passion. They seem really annoying. It reminds me of the time when a new kid came into class and everyone would swarm around him/her. I hope Natalia does okay.

    • I know, fangirls can be obnoxious. Hopefully Natalia will be alright, they are the only other girls there besides Eboni. Let’s hope things don’t get out of hand. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

