Natalia Mortem Chapter 2: Alchemy

Screenshot-6083

The morning after we arrived, we began magic classes. We didn’t have classrooms or anything, just a room full of books in the attic. It was stuffy and uncomfortable up there and I wasn’t thrilled to spend multiple consecutive hours up here.

Screenshot-6085

“Alright kids, ” Mama Sue spoke from her position in front of us. “I’ll be splitting you up into groups, we don’t have enough alchemy stations for all of you so three of you will be using those and the rest will be practicing spells. You’ll stay in these groups for the rest of your time here.”

I crossed my fingers and hoped I wouldn’t get put into a group with Naomi or Renee. Sleeping in the same room as them was bad enough, I’d really rather not have to work with them as well.

“The group working on the alchemy stations will be Eli, Natalia and Trevor, and the rest of you will be practicing some spell work.” Mama Sue announced. I wanted to cheer, not only was I in a group without my fangirls, Trevor was in my group. I smiled discretely to myself as the three of us made our way across the room towards the alchemy stations.

Screenshot-6089

I gripped the sides of the altar and tried to focus on the book in front of me. It was a little hard to concentrate with the other group’s chanting. The writing was also a bit hard to read, the books were old and worn, the ink was starting to smudge.

Screenshot-6093

For now we weren’t making any elixirs, we were just memorizing the recipes. It was a good idea, these things were complex and one little mistake could end up disastrous. Mama Sue told us we wouldn’t be making any actual potions for a while, not until she was sure we knew the recipes. It was a lot of pressure.

“Hey, Natalia.” A male voice whispered from behind me. I spun around and came face to face with Eli.

“Hi Eli, what’s up?”

Screenshot-6096

“Is it just me or are these potions ridiculously complicated?” He asked.

“I know, right?” I giggled softly, making Eli chuckle along with me.

“Yea, and besides, when are we ever going to need a potion to make someone nauseous?” I shrugged.

“Dunno, but I guess we have to learn it.”

Screenshot-6101

“I’d much rather be practicing spells.” He sighed and stole a longing glance towards our classmates waving wands.

“Me too, but I’m glad I’m in this group.” I admitted.

“Oh yea, Naomi and Renee are fans of yours, right? That’s gotta be obnoxious.”

“It is, hopefully their starstrucked-ness will die down soon.” I wanted to say that I hoped I’d be leaving here soon, but I decided it wouldn’t be in good taste. Eli didn’t have anyone to go back to, this was his home. I wouldn’t want to offend him or make him feel bad.

“Yea, well if you need someone to hang out with during down time you can hang with Trevor and I.” Eli offered.

“I’d love too.” I smiled and glanced over at Trevor, who’s head still hung over the large alchemy book. Hanging with them would be so much better than the two girls.

“Awesome, meet us in the living room after class?”

“See you then.” I smiled to myself as the two of us returned to our stations.

———

Screenshot-6105

Later that day after class the three of us met up in the livingroom. Naomi and Renee asked me to do karaoke with them in the rec room, but I declined. I’d much rather spend time getting to know Trevor and Eli. “So what are you guys planning on doing after this?” I asked, even though I was curious about both of their pasts, asking about their future was a lot less nosy.

“Dunno, might get into sports, or maybe firefighting.” Trevor shrugged.

“I think you should be a firefighter.” Eli suggested from the sofa.

“Why is that?”

“Because, what girl doesn’t like firefighters? They’re all muscly and sexy. Not a lot of girls are into sports. You’d have better luck with the ladies if you fought fires.” Eli wiggled his eyebrows at Trevor, making the three of us giggle.

“Alright then, firefighting it is.” Trevor chuckled.

“What about you, Eli?”

Screenshot-6107

“Dunno. I haven’t really discovered what I’m good at yet. When I find it, I’ll let you know.” He winked. I felt a little bad, I knew he didn’t have as good of a life as I did. But he was still very light hearted. Yesterday during introductions he wasn’t very chatty but now he was opening up. I suspected it had something to do with us being alone.

“I’ll be looking forward to that then.”

“And you, Natalia? Are you gonna go back into acting?” Trevor asked.

Screenshot-6106

“I haven’t really thought about it. I probably won’t be able to, my family just kinda disappeared one day and no one really knows where we went. They’ll probably figure it out soon, people don’t just leave like that for no reason. I guess I’ll probably just try and lay low, maybe just get a desk job.” I gave them a weak smile.

“Well for what it’s worth, you were pretty good at acting. Hopefully you’ll be able to get back into it after all this crap dies down.” Trevor’s compliment made me blush. I hadn’t been in many things, I was surprised he’d seen my work.

“Thank you.”

Screenshot-6109

“No problem.”

“So Natalia, were you really dating Jason Beckman before you left?” Eli asked me excitedly.

“We hung out a few times, but thats it.” I giggled.

“Ugh, you’re so lucky.” Eli groaned. “That guy is so gorgeous. I’d probably pass out if I even came within fifty feet of him.”

“Well maybe when things chill out I could introduce you guys.” I wiggled my eyebrows. “Besides, I’m not sure he even plays for my team.” I winked at him, making him throw his hand over his eyes.

“I think you broke him.” Trevor joked. The three of us laughed once again, and for the first time I was actually glad to be here. It was nice to have actual friends, not just a bunch of girls who pretend to like each other but then talk about each other behind their backs. I finally found real, genuine friends.

8 thoughts on “Natalia Mortem Chapter 2: Alchemy

  1. I’m glad that Natalia is hanging out with the guys instead. Reading your legacy is making me jealous since I can’t start my new one up until I finish up decorating my new world I downloaded for it.

  2. Hey! Very nice story and nice pictures and poses! Unlike my legacy character, yours actually has magical powers. Natalia is cute! Can’t wait to read more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

