Natalia Mortem Chapter 3: Friends and Foes

Screenshot-6251

In the middle of the night on my second night in the coven, I woke up with an extremely dry mouth. I instantly threw my blankets back and climbed out of bed. Since I hadn’t listened to the rules, I was unsure if I was allowed to go downstairs to get some water. But surely she couldn’t restrict us from water, right?

I didn’t really have time to contemplate it, I was too thirsty to keep sitting here, thinking. My best option was to just go downstairs, get some water and deal with Mama Sue if she catches me out of bed.

Screenshot-6252

I made my way into the hallway before stopping in my tracks. The boy’s room door was opening right as I opened the girl’s room door.

“Eli? What are you doing up?” I asked him quietly. He looked up, his eyes wide with shock.

“I-I um, what are you doing up?” He fidgeted nervously.

“I’m just getting a glass of water, what is that?” I gestured to the large bag Eli was trying to hide behind his back. It looked like a laundry bag.

Screenshot-6260

“It’s n-nothing.” He stuttered nervously.

“Is that laundry?” I asked, I knew it was rude to pry but he looked genuinely upset. I needed to make sure he was alright. He nodded slowly. “Why are you doing laundry in the middle of the night?”

“B-because I um wetthebed.” He said so fast I almost missed it.

“Oh, are you alright?”

“Uh, yea. But aren’t you gonna make fun of me?”

“What? Why would I do that?” He didn’t answer, he just looked down at the ground and avoided eye contact. “Does this happen often?”

He nodded again. “I-it happens when I have my nightmares.”

Screenshot-6254

“I’m sorry hun, let’s go do this laundry and then we can talk, okay?” I comforted my new friend as I made my way across the hallway.

“Thanks Natalia.” He smiled as I threw my arm around his shoulders and the two of us made our way downstairs.

———-

Screenshot-6256

After we finished washing the sheets, Eli and I made our way to the living room where we laid on the couch. I didn’t say anything, I wanted him to talk when he was ready.

“I lived with my mom my entire life.” He started a few minutes after we got comfortable. “My father was never there, I don’t think he even knew I existed. I never even met the guy, but I know that whatever he did to my mom, she hates him for it.” He sighed and nuzzled into my stomach a little more before continuing.

Screenshot-6257

“He must’ve been a witch, because my mom was human. She must’ve known, because she took her hatred for my father out on me. She hit me, and called me a ‘freak’ and a ‘mutant’. I never really knew what she meant, as I got older I thought she beat me because I was gay. But now, I don’t think she even knew, or cared.” He took a deep, shaky breath.

“She hit me almost every day, it was awful. She’s the reason I have nightmares.” He shuddered. “Then one day, I woke up and she was dead. She strung herself from the ceiling fan. I know this is awful, but I felt relieved.”

“It’s not awful.” I finally chimed in. “She was a terrible mother, you have every right to be relieved that she’s gone and can’t hurt you anymore.”

Screenshot-6259

“Thanks, Natalia. It was good to get that off my chest. You’re a good friend.” He mumbled softly before drifting off. I followed not long after.

———-

Screenshot-6261

The next morning after breakfast, Mama Sue called us into the living room for a coven meeting. She looked scared and upset, and I knew whatever this meeting was about wasn’t good. Everyone else could sense it too, the room was tense before Mama Sue started to talk.

Screenshot-6262

“As you all know, the government has hired werewolves to search for more supernatural beings. Last night, they gave us up. The humans know we exist, and they know we look identical to them. They’re panicking, they don’t know who’s a human and who’s a witch. So to try and calm them, they’ve recruited more wolves to go through every town, including abandoned ones.” She stopped for a second, and Mitchell chimed in.

Screenshot-6269

“Does this mean they’re coming here?” He asked, his voice wavering with fear.

“Yes, it does.”

“What are we gonna do?” He asked.

“We’re gonna stay here and hope the spells protecting us keep protecting us. And if not, well we still have a few days until they come. All alchemy lessons will be cancelled and we will be spending time learning offensive and defensive spells to protect us, in case something goes wrong.”

Screenshot-6268

“That’s it?” Renee asked angrily. “That’s all you have? A protective force field and a few spells?”

“No, I do have the basement.” Mama Sue didn’t even look upset about Renee’s rudeness.

“We have a basement?” Eli asked.

“We do, but the entrance is hidden. I’ll show you it when we need it.”

Screenshot-6270

“Okay so let’s get this straight, if the wolves can get past our magic force field, and come into the house, we’ll be in the basement? What if they come down into the basement? Then we’re cornered. What will we do then?”

“Fight for our lives, Trevor. It’s our only option right now.” Mama Sue sighed. “I don’t like it either, but what choice do we have?”

No one said anything, we didn’t know what to say. This was all so heavy. In just a few days, we’d be fighting werewolves with little pieces of wood. There was no way of knowing if we’d live to see next week.

Screenshot-6266

“What about our families?” I asked after a few moments of silence. I had to ask, I think we all wanted to know.

“I don’t know for sure, Sweetheart. But I’ll talk to some of my contacts tonight and I’ll try and get back to you all by morning. I’m so sorry you all have to go through this so young.”

Screenshot-6271

We all sat there, the only sound was the rain from outside. We were tense and upset, who wouldn’t be in this situation? We were just a group of teenagers, we shouldn’t have to fight for our lives yet. We shouldn’t have to worry about whether or not our families were alive. It wasn’t fair.

From that moment on, I vowed I would never be civil with a human ever again. Not after everything they’ve done to us.

6 thoughts on “Natalia Mortem Chapter 3: Friends and Foes

  1. Great chapter. I hope Eli feels better now. I know what it feels like to tell someone something that has been giving you stress and all lately. Lol Renee “That’s it?” I could totally imagine her saying that in the average rude girl voice.

    • I bet he does, its always nice to have someone there to listen to your problems. Renee isn’t the nicest girl, we’ll be seeing more of her and Naomi in the future. Thanks for reading 🙂

      • Awesome I love your stories. How do you become inspired to write what you do? Even your other story future of the fae is amazing you write my two favourite legacies.

      • Thank you, I’m so glad you like my stories 🙂 I draw a lot of my inspiration from my own personal experiences or from the experiences from the people around me. I also get a lot of inspiration from book, TV shows and movies, but I try to make my stories as original as possible. Thank you for reading and I should have a new chapter out very soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

