Natalia Mortem Chapter 5: Wolves

Screenshot-6520

“What do we do? We’re not ready.” I whispered to Trevor as we stood, frozen, on the balcony.

“I’ll go wake up Mama Sue and you can wake up everyone else. We’ll meet in the basement.” Trevor whispered, his voice wavering slightly despite his attempts to keep calm.

Screenshot-6522

He didn’t have to tell me twice. I took off for the girls room first, it was the closest to the balcony.

Screenshot-6527

“Wake up, everyone to the basement.” I called out, my voice just barely above normal volume. Even though we were protected by a magical force field, they might be able to hear us.

“W-what?” Naomi asked tiredly from her bunk behind me.

“The wolves are here, get to the basement now.” I didn’t have to say any more, within seconds they were all out of bed and rushing into the hallway.

Screenshot-6532

I rushed across the hall and burst into the boys room. “Guys, wake up.” I called out. “The wolves are here, into the basement now.” As soon as I said it both Eli and Mitchell were up and quickly heading out the door.

Screenshot-6539

None of us knew where the basement door was, but Mama Sue soon joined us on the ground floor and rushed into the back room. She approached the book shelf and pulled a book back, making the whole thing shake and one side of it shifted back and slid to the side, revealing a hallway. It was awesome, like something out of a movie, but we didn’t really have time to gawk at it.

Screenshot-6541

We all descended the stairs as quickly as we could. There were piles of trash and junk down here, it was perfect to hide behind despite the smell. It probably smelled on purpose, it would mask our scents from the wolves.

Screenshot-6547

Trevor and I were crouched next to each other. I could feel him shaking. His family has been victims of a wolf attack and he was there when it happened. I couldn’t imagine the flashbacks he was having and the pain he was feeling. I quietly grabbed his hand and squeezed it to show my support.

Screenshot-6551

Trevor squeezed back, just in time for us to hear a loud crash. The front door had burst open, and we could hear dog-like footsteps crashing through the house.

I don’t think any of us even took a breath as we waited, we could hear them bounding through the kitchen and up the stairs.

Screenshot-6548

After a few minutes, we could hear the footsteps get closer. We could hear the mumbles of conversation coming from the wolves. It sounded as if they were right above us, which they probably were. I held my breath and clutched my wand. I was terrified.

We listened as the footsteps crossed the floor above us. They moved into the back room, where the book case was.

“Get ready.” Eboni said, it was the first thing any of us had ever heard her say.

I barely even had time to process what happened next. The wolves somehow got the bookcase open and quickly rushed down the stairs. Two of them jumped at us, I was able to crawl away and head towards the stairs. But as I did, I ended up face-to-face with the last wolf.

Screenshot-6553

Neither of us said a word. I could hear the screams and blasts coming from behind me, but I didn’t dare to turn my back on the beast before me. Looking away would give him the perfect chance to lunge.

He stilled tried though, he’d jerk his body forward and I’d immediately hold my wand up in casting position. He’d stop, but it was as if he was testing my reflexes.

But after a few times, he really did try to attack. Luckily I was ready.

Screenshot-6564

I stopped him mid-lunge with a levitation spell. He hung in the air, limbs flailing wildly as he tried to get back on the ground. Then with a flick of my wrist, he flew back and hit the wall with a loud crack.

Screenshot-6567

He slumped to the floor and as soon as I was sure he wouldn’t be moving any time soon, I swung around to help the rest of my coven fight of the remaining two wolves.

But they didn’t need it. The two wolves were both in growing pools of blood. But they weren’t the only ones.

Screenshot-6569

Suddenly I felt like I was moving through water. Everyone stood around, either crying or comforting each other. It only took me seconds to be by his side.

“Eli!” I heard someone scream, it took me a moment to realize it was me.

Screenshot-6570

“Eli.” I whispered hoarsely as I took him into my arms. I didn’t even care about getting blood all over me, I needed to hold my best friend. He wasn’t gone yet, but he was bleeding out fast. There was so much blood I couldn’t even tell where the wound was.

“Nat.” He coughed, chocking slightly on his own blood.

“I’m so sorry.”

“No, don’t be. Thank you for being my friend.” He smiled and closed his eyes. Within seconds he fell limp in my arms. He was gone.

Screenshot-6573

I gently laid him down on the floor as I started to cry. I pulled myself off the ground and threw myself into Trevor’s arms. The two of us cried, mourning the death of our best friend.

I didn’t want to leave. I didn’t want to leave Eli behind, but a few minutes after he passed Mama Sue interrupted our grieving.

“I’m so sorry, but we need to get out. They could be sending more wolves in soon.” She explained, visibly upset that she had to do this to us.

“W-what about Eli?” I asked from behind my tears.

“I’m sorry, we have to leave him.” She answered, making me sob harder. She didn’t say anything else, she just wrapped an arm around my shoulders and guided Trevor and I out of the house.

Screenshot-6574

She climbed into the driver’s seat of the red pick-up truck outside, and said that one of us could join her up front and the rest could go in the back. Mitchell took the passenger seat as we all climbed into the bed of the truck.

Screenshot-6575

No one said a word. Not even the two chattiest girls on the planet. No one really knew what to say. I felt like my heart was being ripped from my chest, I’d just lost the only real friend I ever had.

Screenshot-6576

Trevor could sense I was about to start bawling full force again. He quietly wrapped his arms around me and pulled me close to his chest.

“Shh, it’s okay, you’re okay.” He whispered as he massaged my shoulders. I wasn’t sure if he was right, I wasn’t sure if I was okay. But for the moment, I felt safe in his arms.

3 thoughts on “Natalia Mortem Chapter 5: Wolves

Leave a Reply

