Natalia Mortem Chapter 7: Family

Screenshot-6922

As soon as I exited the bathroom, I found Trevor standing by the fireplace in the dorm so I threw myself right into his arms again.

“How are you holding up?” He asked me quietly, since we were surrounded by everyone else.

“Not great. What about you?” I asked, before wiping away one of his tears with my thumb.

“I’ve been better.”

Screenshot-6923

“What are we gonna do now?” I pulled myself closer to him. “We don’t have anyone anymore.”

“We have eachother, right?”

“Even after the coven? After the attacks are over?” I was worried, would he still want to be there for me after all of this?

“Even then, I promise Natalia, we’ll always have each other. And for now, we also have all our coven mates.”

Screenshot-6924

“Yea, you’ve got us, we’re all like a family here.” Winter added from her seat at the desk. She’d been talking to Mitchell, who was still kind of in shock about everything.

“Thanks, Winter.” I smiled at her and she smiled back. She seemed really nice, I hoped I could actually make a girl friend here.

Screenshot-6931

“See, babe? You don’t have to worry about being alone ever again. You have us.” Trevor assured me.

“Thank you, I needed that.” I gave him a small smile. “These past few weeks have been hell, it’s nice to have someone there for me.”

“Of course.” He let go of me and sat down on the floor. “Sit, let’s relax for a while. We’ve been in the back of a truck bed for a few days, we need some comfort.” He said with a small laugh.

Screenshot-6933

I joined him on the floor and he laid down so I climbed on top of him. We stayed there, just hanging out next to the fireplace for a few hours. It was the best I’d felt since this whole nightmare started. I felt safe.

I just hoped this feeling would last.

————–

*Two years later*

Screenshot-6990

Luckily for me, it did. With time, Trevor and I only grew closer. His presence made me feel safe, he made me feel like I had a family again. He was my family now.

A lot had changed in two years. The wolf attacks were happening a lot less, when they first started we got news about them every few days, but now it was only once a month or so. The human’s had a few witches in custody, and that seemed to satisfy them for the moment. We were all moderately safe for now, but we couldn’t be completely sure.

Things in Bridgeport were quiet, it was almost too quiet. Everyone else was calm and hopeful, they all thought the war was over. But I didn’t think so. The humans didn’t have enough test subjects. They would want more, I knew that. It wasn’t long before they started coming here.

“Can you believe we’re graduating? We can finally go out on our own.” Trevor exclaimed after pulling away from our kiss.

“I guess, maybe we should wait a while, I know things have been calm but I just wanna make sure we’re completely safe.” I explained to him as his kissed up my neck.

“I guess for a few months, but can I at least get a job in town so I can save up?” I wanted to say no, but I didn’t want to be controlling. I also didn’t want to be completely broke when we went out on our own. So I had no choice but to let him go.

Screenshot-6992

I didn’t answer right away. I gave him a long, hard kiss before slowly pulling away. “What kind of job were you thinking?”

“I’ve always wanted to be in law enforcement.” He gave me a half-grin, as if he were bracing himself for my response.

“I-I don’t know, don’t you think that’s a little risky? Why not something with less government involvement.”

“This is always what I’ve wanted to do, babe. And besides, the force consists of both humans and supernaturals. I won’t stand out at all.” He gave me his best puppy-dog eyes and I couldn’t resist.

“Fine. But you better call me every break you get, I’ll get worried.”

“I promise. We should go now, the meeting is starting and we can’t be late again.”

Screenshot-6995

Trevor grabbed my hand and started to lead me out of the garage. “So, I was thinking, how about Riverview? That’s a nice town, perfect for raising a family.” He said with a smile.

“A family? I don’t know, is that a good idea, to bring more witches into the world right now?” I was hesitant. I did want a kid or two, especially with him, but I wouldn’t want to doom them to a life of hiding who they are.

“Maybe not, but hopefully this won’t last forever. We could always try and find a place that’s only populated by witches.”

“Like Isla Paradiso?” I asked. Mitchell always talked about his life there, it sounded beautiful and I could definitely live on a tropical island.

“Sure, wherever you wanna go. I’ll follow you to the ends of the earth.”

“You are such a cheeseball.” I teased.

“Yea, and you love me for it.” He teased back. I couldn’t help but giggle like an idiot, he made me the happiest girl in the world.

————-

Screenshot-6996

“Thank you for joining us, take a seat.” Megan gave us a stern look as we came into the meeting late.

“Sorry.” Trevor apologized, while the rest of the coven giggled.

Screenshot-6998

“So now that you guys are all eighteen, it’s time for us to discuss your options.” Mama Sue started.

“You guys are welcome to stay here as long as you want, we have the room and you’re safe here. If you do decide to leave, you have to be very careful. You can’t use magic unless you are in a protected space, if you do they’ll be able to track you down. You’ll have to create new identities, if anyone knows you’re real name they’ll be able to track you and find out you disappeared when the attacks started or find out if anyone in your family is a witch, they have records like that.” Megan explained, it made me worry. How would I be able to have a normal life, considering my past fame?

“Also, for you Natalia, if you go out on your own you’d probably have to change up your look.” Mama Sue gave me a sad look, she knew I loved my hair. I gave Trevor a look, I didn’t know if we could really do this.

“Another thing, you guys won’t be able to go back home. You’ll need to find new towns to live in. just incase you see people you used to know. They’ll be suspicious, especially if they know you left right before the attacks.”

Screenshot-7003

“This is a lot. Is it really worth it to live on our own?” Naomi asked. Over the past two years, she chilled out a lot. She wasn’t the star-struck girl I used to know, she was a lot cooler now and I was actually able to have a real conversation with her without being asked about celebrities I used to know.

“That’s up to you, I personally like living on my own and making my own choices, but I’m not you. You’ll have to decide if this is for you.” Megan answered nicely.

Screenshot-7006

“What about romance? Do we have to keep our true identities from people we marry?” Renee asked. She had also chilled out a lot over the years, but she and I didn’t get along that well. For some reason I think she didn’t like me.

Eboni hadn’t changed much, she still had a very punk-ish style except now she had shorter hair and lots of piercings. She still didn’t talk often, but she did say a few things when spoken to first.

“I’d advise it. I can’t tell you what to do, but revealing yourself is risky. You never know how people will react to you telling them you’re a witch.” Megan explained with a pained expression. I could tell by her face that something like this happened to her in the past.

“And if we have kids with humans? What if they turn out to be witches?”

“Honestly, I’d advise you to try and find another witch to marry, but if you fall in love with a human make sure to tell them before you have kids, you wouldn’t want to put children through the discrimination.” Megan gave another hurt expression, my heart hurt for her and whatever it was she went through.

Screenshot-7001

“If we do have kids, should we allow them to go to human schools?” Winter asked, She and Mitchell had been dating for almost a year now, they were almost as cute as Trevor and I. Winter and I had grown very close as well, she was my best friend here and we always talked about our futures together. We wanted to get houses next to each other so our kids could be best friends. I doubted it would actually happen but it was a fun thought.

“That’s up to you, just make sure your children know they can’t use their powers around humans. I’d personally advise homeschooling them until they can fully understand the importance of that.” Mama Sue offered.

Screenshot-7008

“What about working, is it safe to work with humans?” I couldn’t help but ask, I needed to make sure Trevor would be safe.

“It should be, we blend in perfectly. I’d advise staying away from political jobs though, that might be dangerous because they usually keep at least one wolf in their buildings.” Megan answered.

“So like, city hall would have wolves in there?” I asked nervously, if Trevor and I were gonna get married we’d have to do it there, we didn’t have the money for a wedding.

“Unfortunately, but they only usually use them to sniff the employees, so if you were going in for a quick wedding I bet you’d be safe.” Mama Sue gave us a wink, making me blush slightly.

Screenshot-6999

“Would a law enforcement job be dangerous?” Trevor asked, he seemed worried and that surprised me.

“No, I don’t think so. They don’t usually keep wolves in law enforcement offices. That’s not their problem. So if that’s what you want to do, you’d be safe.” Mama Sue assured him, making his face light up with joy. As much as I hated the idea of him being a cop, I loved seeing him so excited.

He grabbed my hand and gave it a squeeze. We had a plan now, now we could actually start our life together. That both excited me and scared me. Were we ready to go out on our own? I guess we’d just have to find out…

2 thoughts on “Natalia Mortem Chapter 7: Family

  1. I have so many mixed feelings.
    I think that something might happen to Trevor, and what if Winter breaks up with Mitchell, which I think I wouldn’t care that much about, since I always thought that Mitchell looked kinda like a scrawny typa’ coward. (Just my personal thoughts and preferences taking over).

    • I hope nothing happens to Trevor, Natalia really loves him and she’s lost enough people so far. But things are dangerous for them, they never know. We’ll be seeing more of Mitchell and Winter in the next few chapters, and it’s funny you say that because one of his traits is coward XD. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

