Natalia Mortem Chapter 13: Gods and Flu’s

Screenshot-7383

A few months later, Winter was showing and she was super emotional. She hadn’t talked much about her pregnancy since she took the test. It was a touchy subject, so we only talked about it when she brought it up.

“Hey Nat?” She asked one day while we were lounging on the couch, bored out of our minds. There wasn’t much to do around here, we didn’t have any electronics.

“Yea what’s up?”

“I was wondering if you had any suggestions for baby names.” She sighed, placing a hand softly on her protruding stomach.

“Really?” I asked excitedly, I was wondering what she was thinking regarding names. I was honored that she asked me for suggestions.

“Well yea, you’re my best friend, who else would I ask?” She smiled, but I could see the sadness in her eyes. It hurt her, I knew she wanted to do this with Mitch.

Screenshot-7386

“Do you know if you’re having a girl or a boy?” I asked, Beatrice had taken her to a witch doctor a few times. I never asked her what went on, I wanted her to come to me.

“Boy.” She looked at me with a soft smile. “I was thinking about naming him Mitchell, but that’d hurt too much.”

“Well, I’ve always loved names from Greek mythology, I was planning on naming my kids after some of the gods and goddesses. Maybe you could, since I’m probably not having kids.” I offered.

“That’s your thing though.”

“I know, but I don’t want my idea to go to waste. And if I do end up having kids, then we can both have kids named after gods and goddesses. It’ll be cute.” I smiled, imagining our little godlike children playing together.

Screenshot-7389

“Hey guys, whatcha talking about?” Naomi plopped down on the couch next to us. Even though she used to annoy me, we’d actually grown a lot closer. It was nice to have another friend around.

“Baby names. We’re thinking about a Greek god name.” I smiled excitedly.

“Oh nice, what god?”

“Not sure yet.” Winter replied.

“Hmm, why not Atlas?” Naomi suggested, but Winter shook her head.

“No, not him, I don’t want my son to be named after the guy who carried the world on his back.” Winter giggled.

“Well then how about Zeus? He is the leader of the gods, after all.” I chimed in, making Winter’s eyes light up.

Screenshot-7391

“That’s perfect! My own little bolt of lightening.” She wrapped her arms around her stomach protectively. “Mitch would’ve loved that name.”

“He really would’ve, he was a huge nerd.” I chuckled, I didn’t mean it in a mean way, and Winter knew that.

“Yea, he really was.” She chuckled too, it was the first time I’d seen her happy in a long time. It was nice.

———–

Screenshot-7392

A few weeks later, Winter was doing really well. She was socializing with everyone, she was laughing, and she was feeling a lot better. It was great to see, I hated that she was so down.

“Hey Nat, how’re you feeling?” She asked when we ran into each other in the common area. I’d been feeling a little sick lately, but I’d probably just caught the flu, just like Henry had.

“Eh, I feel a little nauseous and achy, but I’m alright.” I smiled weakly, I knew what she was thinking and there was no way. The last time Trevor and I had done anything was before the raid. We had barely even spoken since our fight, things were tense between us. He was still insanely jealous that I was reunited with my mom.

Screenshot-7396

“Hun, I know you think there’s no possible way you could be pregnant, but you should at least take a test. You don’t look like you have the flu.” She smiled sympathetically, she was once in the same place I was, but I couldn’t possibly be pregnant.

“If I take a test, will you stop bugging me about it?” I said with a laugh.

“Yes.” She smiled deviously. She was convinced she was right and wanted to prove me wrong, but she was gonna be bitterly disappointed.

“Alright, I’ll have Beatrice get a test.” She smiled, then gasped really loud. “Oh my gosh, Zeus is kicking!” She exclaimed.

“Can I feel?” I asked excitedly.

Screenshot-7402

“Of course.” She offered her stomach and I gently placed my hand on it. Immediately I felt the soft kicks of Zeus.

“Oh my god, this is so exciting.” I squealed.

“Yea, but it’s not as exciting when he’s kicking my bladder.” She laughed. “Soon this’ll be you.” She winked at me, making me roll my eyes.

Screenshot-7404

“No way. It’s just the flu.”

“We’ll see.” She said in a sing-song voice. I opened my mouth to retaliate, but I immediately closed it after feeling vomit rise in my throat.

“Natalia? Are you alright?” Winter asked, her previous light-hearted attitude completely disappeared. I shook my head and ran upstairs towards the bathroom.

———-

Screenshot-7405

“Nat? Are you alright?” Winter followed me up to the bathroom, but at a much slower pace. Half the contents of my stomach were in the bowl by the time she came in.

“I’m fine, just the flu. You know how it is.” I explained during a break in my puking.

“I do know how it is, and it definitely isn’t the flu, Hun. I’ll go get the test.” She then waddled out of the bathroom to find Beatrice.

Screenshot-7406

I stayed there, crouched over the toilet. I’d stopped vomiting, but I kept my head there, pressed against the cool porcelain. Maybe she was right, maybe I was pregnant. But that would mean I was almost three months along already. Why hadn’t I noticed sooner?

“Nat? Hey, I’m back.” Winter came back a few moments later. “Here.” She handed the small box to me.

“Thanks.” I managed to reply weakly. I hoped the test was negative, I had no idea how Trevor would react. I assumed it wouldn’t be pretty, things were still bad between us. A pregnancy would just make things worse.

I took the test, and just sat on the toilet crying while I waited for the results. Winter didn’t say anything, she just stood outside the stall supportively. I was glad she was here, her presence made me feel a little bit better.

“Nat, its been three minutes, what does it say?” Winter knocked softly on the stall door. I closed my eyes and took a deep breath, preparing myself for the results. I opened my eyes and picked up the little stick.

Two red lines.

Positive.

“Oh my god.” I started to sob. “No, this can’t be happening.” I stood up and opened the stall door.

Screenshot-7409

“What did it say?” Winter asked softly, even though she already knew the answer.

“It’s positive.”

“This isn’t a bad thing, Nat.” She tried to be supportive but I just felt like I was gonna be sick again. This was a bad thing.

“This is terrible, Winter! Trevor and I aren’t on good terms right now, what is he gonna do when he finds out? He’s gonna flip!” I was hysterical, this was awful.

“You never know, it might bring you guys back together.” She tried to be positive, but we both knew it wouldn’t. Trevor would not be happy. He practically hated me now, we hadn’t spoken in weeks and he avoided me as best he could in a small barn. I was surprised he hadn’t dumped me.

Screenshot-7410

“I’m not gonna tell him yet, I need a plan. Or I at least need to prepare myself.” I took a deep breath. I could barely grasp this myself, there was no way I could tell anyone else yet.

“Don’t wait too long, You want him to hear it from you, not from your stomach. That’ll only make things worse.” She advised. I nodded and wiped the tears from my eyes.

“Yea, I’ll tell him before I start showing.” I sighed. This wasn’t gonna go well.

2 thoughts on “Natalia Mortem Chapter 13: Gods and Flu’s

  1. I was really sad when Winter was having a small breakdown, but at the same time, I was happy for her.
    When Nat said she wasn’t having kids, I was like: yeah right . . . You kinda have to.
    Lol, great chapter as always!

Leave a Reply

